Growing Up Gold

Debbie sent these recollections of her grandfather making music with the family:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think some of my happiest memories as a child were those making music with my grandfather, Marty Gold, and our family during the holidays and whenever we visited. We’d play standards and show tunes and the whole family would play and sing along.

Then, Grandpa would play his hit song “Tell Me Why” and it touched all of us deeply.

In the summer of 1983, I decided to transfer to Berklee College of Music for my undergraduate studies. Grandpa wanted to get me ready for the “Berklee way” of learning music. So, I drove to his home in Leonia, New Jersey, from Long Beach Island every week to take a private lesson with him in his music studio.

We’d share the piano bench, his pipe always on hand, and we would work on music for hours. Those were some of the best moments for me “growing up Gold”!

This entry was posted in Family Recollections, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment